When You Are Pregnant But No One Is Happy For You…

KD
9 min readDec 10, 2023

I NEED to tell this story because it has been eating away at me. This is a true story about a time (back in 2019) when I found out I was pregnant.

We had been trying to get pregnant one last time (because I was getting older…).

Well, I did get pregnant. I was SO SO SO excited! My youngest was home and I had bought a shirt for him that said “I am going to be a big brother!”.

Even though I bought that shirt about a year ago (thanks secondary infertility!!!!), the shirt still mainly fit him.

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Oh, No!!! Will There Be Enough Room???

I had my littlest boy put on the shirt and we eagerly ran downstairs to tell my mother in law (who just started living with us three months prior) and I told her to look at the shirt my son was wearing.

She looked at me and GASPED is HORROR and she covered her frowing pie hole. She then said ‘OH NO!!’. I did not know what to say so I just took my little boy with me and we ran upstairs to my bedroom.

I mean, that was NOT the expression I was expecting from my MIL. I KNOW I was older (44 at the time) but REALLY?? Gee, thanks you damn hag!!

Of course I was heartbroken because besides telling my hubby (over text) I was pregnant, my MIL…

--

--

KD

Someone who is trying to get through life in one piece and be the best version of myself. I also want to try and help others who are hurting or sad.